Ohio Mr. Football 2018

The Ohio Prep Sports Writers Association along with the Ohio High School Athletic Association selected Lexington High School senior Cade Stover as the 32nd Ohio Mr. Football recipient on Wednesday.

Stover, a 6-foot-5, 235-pound linebacker/running back is well know by those who follow recruiting as he’s a future Ohio State Buckeye having given Urban Meyer his pledge in April over many schools including Michigan, Notre Dame, Oklahoma and others.

While the honor of Mr. Football is not a career award, Stover has been a high-level player for Lexington over his career finishing with 592 total tackles. This season, Stover also played a huge role on offense with 1,497 rushing yards for 18 touchdowns while also posting 21 receptions for 238 yards and a touchdown.


CJ Charleston – Gates Mills Gilmour Academy

Brady Blattner – Byesville Meadowbrook

KJ Price – London

Ethan Heller – Thornville Sheridan

Miyan Williams – Cincinnati Winton Woods

Jamir Thomas – Massillon Washington Mark

Waid – Girard


1987: Buster Howe, RB-DB-K-P, Zanesville, Ohio State 

1988: Robert Smith, RB, Euclid, Ohio State 

1989: Robert Smith, RB, Euclid, Ohio State 

1990: Bobby Hoying, QB, St. Henry, Ohio State
1991: Derek Kidwell, QB-DE, Fostoria, Bowling Green 

1992: Marc Edwards, RB-LB, Norwood, Notre Dame 

1993: Curtis Enis, RB-LB, Mississinawa Valley, Penn State 

1994: Charles Woodson, DB-RB, Fremont Ross, Michigan 

1995: Andy Katzenmoyer, LB, Westerville South, Ohio State 

1996: Derek Combs, RB-DB-KR, Grove City, Ohio State 

1997: Tony Fisher, RB, Euclid, Notre Dame 

1998: Ryan Brewer, RB, Troy, South Carolina 

1999: Bam Childress, DB-WR-KR, Bedford St. Peter Chanel, Ohio State 

2000: Jeff Backes, RB-DB, Upper Arlington, Northwestern

2001: Maurice Clarett, RB, Warren G. Harding, Ohio State 

2002: Ben Mauk, QB, Kenton, Wake Forest/Cincinnati 

2003: Ray Williams, RB, Cleveland Benedictine, West Virginia 

2004: Tyrell Sutton, RB, Archbishop Hoban, Northwestern 

2005: Delone Carter, RB, Copley, Syracuse 

2006: Brandon Saine, RB, Piqua, Ohio State 

2007: Bart Tanski, QB, Mentor, Bowling Green 

2008: Erick Howard, RB, North Canton Hoover, Akron 

2009: Erick Howard, RB, North Canton Hoover, Akron 

2010: Akise Teague, RB-DB-KR, Youngstown Ursuline, Cincinnati 

2011: Maty Mauk, QB, Kenton, Missouri/Eastern Kentucky 

2012: Mitch Trubisky, QB, Mentor, North Carolina 

2013: Dante Booker Jr., LB, Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary, Ohio State 

2014: Joe Burrow, QB, Athens, Ohio State/LSU 

2015: Keishaun Sims, RB-DB, Massillon Perry, Ashland 

2016: Michael Warren, RB, Toledo Central Catholic, University of Cincinnati 

2017: Joey Baughman, QB, Wadsworth, Virginia (Wrestling) 

2018: Cade Stover, SS-RB, Lexington, Ohio State


New Report